Personal Investigations

This term, we have been investigating topics that interest us. Through doing this, we have learned research, mind mapping and questioning skills. After spending some time identifying topics that we are interested in, we immersed ourselves in our chosen area. We shared our learning with a couple of people, which helped to clarify our ideas. We worked on developing a deep level question; a question that could not be answered by a simple Google search. Our question will require us to do a lot of the thinking with some support from Google. Here are our questions:

  • Emma: How might I design a backyard for people with disabilities so that they do not injure themselves?
  • Priyana: How might I raise awareness about child labour for Australian consumers in order to prevent them from purchasing clothing made by children?
  • Que Anh: How might I design a backyard landscape design for elderly people so that they can avoid injuries?
  • Quyen: How might I design a cookbook for Year 6/7 students in order to improve their baking skills?
  • Tien: How might I design a Vietnamese cookbook for Blue Building students so that they can cook Vietnamese food at home?
  • Trang: How might I create a lesson program about tsunamis for Year 6 students in order to raise their awareness of the impact of tsunamis on communities?
  • Tiana: How might I create a drama program for Year 3 students in order to develop their self-confidence?
  • Jordan: How might I design a plan for earthquake prone areas around the world in order to reduce the impact of earthquakes?
  • Blake: How might I design a cricket helmet for cricketers in order to improve their safety?
  • Niko: How might I design a robot for people with hearing problems so that it translates English into AUSLAN?
  • Andy: How might I design a nuclear fusion reactor for scientists so that we can begin to use this form of energy?
  • Jason L: How might we create a Maths game using Scratch for Year 5 students in order to improve their number skills?
  • Jarrod: How might I design a house for the elderly so that they have a sanctuary to live in?
  • Kalebb: How might we create a Maths game using Scratch for Year 5 students in order to improve their number skills?
  • Jason T: How might I develop a program for corporate companies so that they can understand the impacts of deforestation and then reduce these impacts?
  • Judy: How might I create a healthy menu for a takeaway restaurant in order to reduce obesity in people who are time-poor?
  • Jess: How might I create an animation for Year 6 students to raise their awareness of the impact of tornadoes on communities?
  • Rose: How might I design a game for upper primary students so that they understand the causes and effects of the endangerment of a language has on the world?
  • Jenifer: How might I design a robot for hospitals in order to help children recover?
  • My: How might I develop a healthy Korean cookbook for time-poor people so that they can cook at home more often?
  • Tina: How might I create clothing using upcycled materials for poor children in Australia in order to help provide them with clothing?
  • David: How might we create a Maths game using Scratch for Year 5 students in order to improve their Maths skills?
  • Cornas: How might I design a housing solution for homeless people in Africa in order to reduce the number of people living without shelter?
  • Praban: How might we create a Maths game using Scratch for Year 5 students in order to improve their number skills?
  • Genis: How might I design a man-made structure on Mars for the Mars One astronauts so that they are able to breathe without needing to wear their space suits?
  • Riley: How might I develop a lacrosse coaching program for Year 6/7 students in order to promote lacrosse as a sport?
  • Zulfikar: How might we create a Maths game using Scratch for Year 5 students in order to improve their number skills?

We’ll be sharing our progress on our blogs, so please stop by and check them out.

Super Six Sevens

3 thoughts on “Personal Investigations

  1. Well done super six sevens! I can’t wait to see where these great questions take you and what amazing solutions you come up with. I’m excited to see how you achieve your goals. Great to see some deep thinking coming along.

  2. Ms Andrews,
    Do I have to include the links to the websites that I obtained the information from.( FOR HISTORY ASSIGNMENT).
    Praban 😀

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *